Onion Asparagus Frittata

How did I not know how easy it is to throw together a frittata?  I was given some asparagus so thought quiche, but didn’t want to deal with a crust or the added calories.  I’ve only tasted a frittata once when a woman brought one to Bible study like 10 years ago.  Eggs are some very cheap protein so it seemed like the perfect solution.

I based my recipe on this one.  I didn’t have a whole pound of asparagus, but I’ll definitely use more next time.  I’ve always got Cheddar on hand, hence the substitution.  I was also given like 5 lbs of onions, so I increased the amount of onion and gave it top billing.

Here’s my revised recipe.

Onion Asparagus Frittata

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 large onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pound asparagus, tough ends snapped off, spears cut diagonally into 1-inch lengths
  • 4 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar Cheese
Heat oil in an ovenproof skillet over medium high heat.  Add onions and salt and cook about 3 minutes until onions are softened.  Add asparagus, reduce heat.  I cooked it uncovered, but the original recipe says to cover and cook for 6-8 minutes.  Add the eggs and cook about 2 minutes.  In the meantime, preheat the broiler.
Sprinkle cheese on top and broil 3-4 minutes until cheese is melted and browned.

Add a glass of orange juice and a dollop of Greek yogurt and I’ve got myself a tasty treat for tomorrow’s tea party.  Until then, don’t bother me.  I’m eating.

 

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

