St. Baldrick’s

Several months ago, I was listening to a radio program about heroes.  A woman called in to commend a young lady in her town who was graduating high school.  She was about to shave her head for charity for the second time.  I was amazed that someone so young would put aside teenage vanity for a good cause.

Having contemplated shaving my own head for a year or more, I came home and googled head shaving charity and found St. Baldrick’s Foundation.  It was intriguing to me that so many would “brave the shave” to raise money for children’s cancer research.

I decided I would like to participate.  My husband was OK with the idea.  Being bald himself, perhaps he’d welcome the company.  His only concern was my prominent “flat spot”  which is flatter than most and somewhat bumpy.  I said that I didn’t care about that because I don’t have to look at it.   “But I have to,” he teased.

My then five-year-old son understood this was a way to help kids but was hesitant until I assured him that my hair would grow back.

After months of talking and weeks of planning, my head will be shaved this Saturday at our own fundraiser.  I hope to make this an annual event, recruiting shavees and raising money for this excellent cause.

To learn more visit www.stbaldricks.org/events/fulfillingandoddlyminty

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

