National Apple Month – Recipe Week 2

I had no idea what to make this week for today’s post, so when I asked Philip and Keith, they both requested apple dumplings.  Apple dumplings?  I think I may have eaten one before, but I know I have never made them.  I had to look up what they were! 

Many of the recipes were heavy on the cinnamon, but my kid doesn’t like cinnamon.  (Yes, he’s mine.  Looks just like me.  There was that temporary panic I had in the hospital when they brought him back to me and he looked like some other mother’s baby, but that’s another story.)  Our family loves butterscotch and caramel, so I was tickled to find a recipe that would use some of the mysterious overabundance of brown sugar we have.

I didn’t want to deal with making a pie crust.  Do I even own a rolling pin?  Maybe it ran off with my missing blender.  Anyway, I cheated and bought premade dough. 

Butterscotch Apple Dumplings

  • 4 apples – cored and cubed (I used Gravenstein, Granny Smith, and Fuji and kept the peel on.)
  • pie crust for 2-crust pie
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice  (I like using an all-in-one blend that has nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves, allspice, and ginger.)
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 cups boiling water
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease one 13×9 inch baking pan.
  2. Combine 1/4 cup of the white sugar with the spices.  Add apples and toss.
  3. Unroll 2 rolls of prepared dough and cut each in quarters.  Place 3-4 chunks on each piece of dough.  Moisten edges of dough and bring corners up over apples, pressing edges together. Place covered apples in the prepared baking pan with joined edges either on top or underneath the apples.
  4. Mix together brown sugar, butter, salt, and water; bring to a boil. Pour over dumplings in pan.
  5. Bake at 375 degrees F for 45 to 50 minutes, or until apples are tender. Serve warm. Makes 8 servings. The brown sugar mixture forms a delicious butterscotch sauce around the dumplings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So here they are.  I don’t know what I’m doing, but don’t the pictures look pretty?  I’m fairly certain they weren’t supposed to look like this.  The tops turned gbd, but I think they were supposed to be moist.  Perhaps next time I will put the dumplings in a smaller baking dish or maybe I’ll simply serve the dumpling upside down.  However, the flavors were perfect together.  The butterscotch wasn’t too sweet and made a nice sauce for the vanilla ice cream I served on the side.

  “A learning experience is one of those things that says, ‘You know that thing you just did? Don’t do that.'” ~ Douglas Adams

Special thanks to Carol who posted the recipe from which this version was adapted and Mrs. A for the quote.

Jennifer

Leave a Reply

