BBQ Chicken Soup and Apple Cole Slaw

 

As I mentioned in my post, National Apple Month, I will be posting one apple recipe each Monday for the month of September. 

A few weeks ago, I had some chicken that needed to be cooked.  I stuck it in the crockpot along with some beans I had soaked and a bottle of BBQ sauce, and a couple cans of chicken broth and then went about my day.  Several hours later, I returned home.  The beans weren’t as soft as I would have liked, but the chicken was perfect and the broth was amazing.  It was a happy accident that got me thinking I could make this into something good.  I asked several friends and readers on Facebook what they like to eat with BBQ.  I was given several ideas, a few already in the soup and an idea for a side.  Pictures will be posted later, but here are my recipes.

BBQ Chicken Soup

  • 1 lb chicken breast or filets, raw and cut into chunks
  • 1 32 oz. box chicken broth
  • 1 bottle Bullseye BBQ sauce
  • 1 15 oz. can white corn, drained
  • 1 28 oz. can Bush’s Best Homestyle Baked Beans

Combine liquid ingredients in crockpot.  Add remaining ingredients.  Cook on low for 8-10 hours.  I do not recommend using cooked chicken for this recipe if you put it all in the crockpot (a lesson learned from yesterday’s version).

I’ve never been a fan of cole slaw, but when a friend said she likes to eat apple cole slaw with BBQ, I thought it sounded like something I’d like.  This recipe is a result of ideas from a couple different online recipes and several of my own additions.

Apple Cole Slaw

  • 1 bag of cole slaw mix or 4 cups chopped cabbage and 1/2 cup chopped carrots
  • 1 Red Delicious apple, unpeeled and chopped
  • 1 Granny Smith apple, unpeeled and chopped
  • 1/2 cup large red grapes, sliced
  • 1 /2 cup roasted and salted sunflower kernals

        Combine all of the above.

        Dressing

  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice

        Whisk until emulsified.  Pour over slaw and toss.  Chill before serving.

This meal is perfect served with a rustic cornbread and watermelon.

Leave a Reply

