Aloha!

Keith’s birthday party!  Wow, this was fun one to plan.  I so love having ideas come to me when I least expect them.  Flylady calls them God breezes and so now I do too!

We didn’t really have a theme in mind.  Well, we did have a safari theme in mind first, but then The Dollar Tree had a bunch of luau stuff, so we went with that. 

Originally, I wanted to do a pig cake with an apple in its mouth.  Then I thought that would be too twisted for those who don’t know me well.  I actually saw quite a few examples online of the pig/apple cake, so I guess I’m not as twisted as I thought.  I wanted to do something fairly unique.  I found a description of a cake with blue icing and brown sugar sprinkled on the white “shore” and thought that would be easily translated to cupcakes.

I decorated each of the cupcakes differently:  teddy bear crackers on fruit by the foot surfboards or on the beach lying under cocktail umbrellas, Finding Nemo fruit snacks and Swedish Fish candies floating in the water, and even a lifeguard teddy bear saving another teddy.  The cupcakes were placed on a cupcake tower and a small yellow balloon “sun” floated above it all.

Each child was greeted with “Aloha!” and given a lei to place around his or her neck.  They were then offered a cup of Hawaiian Punch.  The kids dipped their fingers in butterscotch pudding “poi” in a wooden bowl (no double dipping!). 

We broke out the limbo stick while Daddy-O played surfer music.  Later we played hot potato island style, using a coconut.  The kids dined on pizza, and built and ate their own LA Cultures yogurt creations along with the cupcake of their choice.  After presents were opened, we played Pin the Tail on the Donkey and passed out favors of bubbles, island fruit flavored candies, and luau straws in a island flower bag wrapped with a silk flower and topped with a colorful cocktail umbrella.

Aloha and Happy Birthday to my big 6 year old!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Aloha!

  1. We had such a fun time!!! Your cupcakes were AWESOME!!! But I would totally have loved the pig/apple cake too. 😉

    I am formulating ideas for Korben’s birthday… I’ll be texting you for help lol!

Leave a Reply

