Cupcakes again?

Yum!

For some reason, I had a brain skip about taking cupcakes to school for Keith’s birthday Tuesday.  I kept thinking I would bring them on Thursday, which of course, had nothing to do with his birthday.  It happens to be picture day and auditions for the school play, so somewhere in my brain the cupcakes got lumped in with all that stuff.  If another girl in his class hadn’t brought cupcakes for her birthday on Monday, I would have continued this line of thinking.  Thankfully, I saw Keith’s teacher holding the leftover cupcakes to give to the child’s mother and quickly realized my error.  As I asked how many cupcakes were needed, I was trying to figure out what  could create that would be quick but tasty.  Keith chose the carrot cake mix, so I came up with the following:

Carrot Raisin Cupcakes
  • Prepare one box carrot cake mix according to package directions using 2% milk instead of water
  • Stir in 1/2 cup apricot-pineapple preserves.   
  • Add a bit of flour to 1/2 cup of golden raisins and toss.  This will keep the raisins from sinking to the bottom of the cupcake.
  • Fold in raisins.
  • Bake according to package directions.

After they were cool, I used Betty Crocker Cupcake Icing.  This comes in a can similar to Reddi Wip and has several decorator tips to choose from.  Using the star tip, I drew flowery stars on the top of several of the cupcakes and simply swirled the icing from the middle of the cupcake to the edge on the rest.  Rainbow sugar sprinkles applied in various designs finished these quick and yummy cupcakes.  Keith and his class enjoyed the finished project.

Jennifer

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Cupcakes again?

  1. Pingback: Memory Lane Monday: Cupcakes again? « Fulfilling and Oddly Minty

Leave a Reply

