Happy National Filet Mignon Day

Happy National Filet Mignon Day!  Now, I’ll be the first one to admit that this is an expensive holiday.  Most of the celebrations my family observe are on the cheap, but because this holiday is shared with the anniversary of the death of the great Julia Child (and whose anniversary of her birth is in two days), I feel the need to splurge.

I’ll admit it.  When I was told filet mignon was being served at my Senior Banquet, I couldn’t believe it.  I mean, why would they serve FISH!  At 18, I had never had what would become one of my favorite cuts of beef.  In honor of Julia Child weekend, I thought it would be fun to pick up a couple steaks and do a little experimenting.  (If it works out, I’ll post pictures.) 

Whether you prepare a simple sautéed dish using spices along the lines of Montreal Steak Pepper (shout out to my friend Kelly) and serving on a bed of mixed greens or try something a little more elaborate, such as searing it in a spicy chile sauce, please join me in raising a glass to the late, great Julia Child!

What is your favorite way to prepare beef?

Special thanks to

Bob Sassone

California Women for Agriculture

Jennifer

One thought on “Happy National Filet Mignon Day

Leave a Reply

